Review: Charles Owen Helmets

Review: Charles Owen Helmets

Charles Owen has been my go-to helmet brand for 4 or 5 years.

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, horse, hat and outdoor

Between my dad and I, we’ve used the:

The best part about these helmets is that they have about every safety certification known to man (or close to it!).

emma2

They are certified:

  • SEI/ASTM F1163
  • CE VG 01.040 2014-12
  • BSI Kitemark PAS015:2011
  • SNELL E2001

They’re super comfortable. Before switching to Charles Owen, I’d ridden in Ovations, Troxels, IRHs, and even a GPA. None of them are bad helmets, but none of them hold a candle to my Charles Owens. They are the most comfortable helmets I’ve ever put my head in.

The downfall of these Charles Owen helmets is that they have zero ventilation (the ARY8 is the cheapest one with any).

 

Image may contain: 1 person, standing, horse and outdoor

The helmets are covered with microfiber suede that is weather resistant. My JR8 Sparkle has a black sparkly center. It’s not a glossy sparkle, it’s a little rougher. However, it’s not a bad thing, it helps the sun reflect the sparkle even more.

The JR8s have nylon harnesses and plastic clasps, and the GR8 has a suede covered nylon-fortified harness with a metal clasp and button.

I have a hyper, huge horse. I fall off…more than the average person, and when I fall, it’s a long fall. I’m lucky in that I’ve yet to have to go the hospital for a fall (KNOCK ON WOOD), and I give plenty of the credit for that to my helmets and XC vests.

 

xc may.png

Helmet companies recommend your helmet should be replaced after every fall or after 5 years with light use (consistent riders should replace more often). My helmets tend to last about two years, about 2-4 falls per helmet. It’s not the best situation, but replacing my helmet everytime would be extremely expensive. I’ve gotten to the point where I am very good at landing on my feet or butt, not my head. That said, if it’s possible for you to replace your helmet after every fall, I encourage you to do so.

The pros:

The classic look (or fun sparkles) and A+ safety standards.

The cons:

No ventilation!

emma

Overall?

I trust my helmets to save my life every time I ride. There’s nothing I would trust more than Charles Owen!

Leave a Reply

